Welcome to Phonic Lessons

I have been inspired to write these Phonic Books because I believe that systematic phonic instruction is the most successful way to teach children how to read and spell. Once children learn the sound for each letter of the alphabet, and can sound out three letter words, a whole new world of reading is opened up for them. Their confidence grows as they realise they can read and they soon learn to sound out longer words. The ability to read words fluently and with confidence improves reading comprehension.

have taught Year One children for many years and am convinced that a systematic phonic based programme enhances children’s reading progress.
Each Year that I have taught Year One I have had children who were non-readers at the beginning of the year progress to a reading age of over 8 years.
Similar progress can also be tracked with Year 2 and Year 3 children whom I have taught with a phonic based programme.

I have also used this programme to help older children who have been struggling with reading, with beneficial results. 

Phonic learning needs to be integrated into other learning areas.
In Phonic Pack One I have included the writing of the letters with the learning of the sound because they are so easily integrated.

I have used a variety of activities to make the learning interesting and to develop different skills.

honic learning needs to be supplemented with reading books appropriate for the child’s level of development.  (There are a lot of excellent reading series to choose from. Choose a series which builds up an expanding reading vocabulary.)

t is important for a child to be able to comprehend what he/she is reading, so I have included short comprehension exercises to help develop this skill.

A systematic phonic programme which integrates into other learning areas is not easy to organise. It is my hope these lessons and activities will help you with this task.

Time is always a factor. I have tried to make the lessons short and to the point.

Being a confident reader (and writer) is so important.  It is my desire that this programme will enhance your reading programme and that the benefits will spill over into other learning areas.

Happy learning,
Glenys Deutscher.

Teaching Phonics – Criteria met in the Phonic Programme

This Phonic Programme offers a quality systematic synthetic phonic teaching programme.

It introduces the sound of each letter of the alphabet in a clearly defined, incremental sequence.

It is a programme written for children to enable them to start learning phonic knowledge at about the age of five or the year they begin ‘formal’ learning.

The programme is set out so that the progressive, daily lessons follow one after the other, building up phonic knowledge over time.

To keep the lessons interesting and aid learning multi-sensory activities are integrated into the lessons.
Activities are kept short and to the point. This emphasises the learning goal for that lesson (and saves precious classroom time.)

As soon as sufficient letter sounds are taught the important skill of blending the sounds into words begins.
First two letter words (eg: at, is, as, it.), then three letter words (eg: cat, dot, sit).
It emphasises the important skill of blending the sounds of letters together, from left to right, in order to being able to sound out a word.

Little books accompany this programme to provide:

  • a reading experience that helps the child practise the skill of blending sounds to make words.
  • the child with interesting books that allow her/him to read confidently at his/her level of development.
  • the child with a reading experience that encourages reading with expression and fluency.
  • the child with an experience that helps him/her realise that a book has a title, an author and is read from the front to the back.
  • the child with the challenge of deciding whether it matters if the pages of a book have to be in a certain order for the reading of it to make sense.

Five Little Books that emphasise the vowels ‘a’, ‘e’, ‘i’, ‘o’ and ‘u’ are:

‘Brat the Rat’ emphasises words that contain the ‘a’ vowel.
‘My Book of Riddles’ emphasises words that contain the ‘e’ vowel.
‘What Do You Think’ emphasises words that contain the ‘i’ vowel.
‘Molly Has a Dog’ emphasises words that contain the ‘o’ vowel.
‘Five Funny Bugs’ emphasises words that contain the ‘u’ vowel.

The programme moves from learning the sound of each letter of the alphabet to learning letter blends (eg: pl, dr, tr, fr, lk) and then on to digraphs (eg: ch, ck, th, wh, ar, ir)

Little Books that emphasise the digraphs ‘ch’, ‘ck’, ‘th’ and ‘wh’ are:
‘Chirpy Chicken’ emphasises words that contain the ‘ch’ digraph.
‘Little White Duck’ emphasises words that contain the ‘ck’ digraph.
‘The Smith Family’ emphasises words that contain the ‘th’ digraph.
‘Little White Whale’ emphasises words that contain the ‘wh’ digraph.

Finally the programme progresses through to trigraphs (eg: tch, ear, eer).
Silent letters are also covered (eg silent ‘t’ as in listen, silent ‘w’ as in wren, silent’h’ as in ghost.

This programme introduces high frequency ‘sight’ words that the child cannot sound out
(eg: here, come.) but needs to be able to recognise.
Colour Words are covered in Phonic Pack Two and to give the child reading for a purpose practise at his/her level of development little books, each one repeating a different colour, are provided.